h1

At the Polls November 5th

November 12, 2008

The following was sent to me by my friend Chuck in Sarasota. He’s retired but keeps very busy with his church, volunteering at the local school, friends and his dog, Butch. He also finds time to works every election at the polls.

Everything went pretty good at the third precinct here in Sarasota. It would have to with me being in charge. Ha. My assistant and I arrived at the precinct at 6 a.m. and began unloading all the stuff from the elections office. About 6:15 some guy came up while I was moving my car. I told him we didn’t open until 7 a.m. He said he knew that but wanted to be first in line. He was. He had brought a chair, a book and a flashlight and sat just outside the door.

By 7 a.m. we opened the doors and the parking lot was filled with prospective voters. We voted the most people since I began in this precinct in 1989. We had 477 voters. Of course I didn’t count the early voters which were probably 150 or more.

Of course during the course of the day the computers in the downtown headquarters went bad along with Polk, Manatee and Philneslas Counties. Finally when they went back on line I got a hold of the phone bank and told them not to hang up on me because I had five people in line with problems about I.D.’s, absentee ballots, where should they vote, etc. Needless to say this went on all day. We did manage to close out the voting machine with the aid of a tech who ran between five precincts to help with any problems.

By 8:30 p.m. my assistant and I delivered our ballots and voting machine to the downtown office. By 9:30 I was home with a glass of vodka and my shoes off sitting on the sofa with Butch. By 10 he had gone out and we headed for bed. It was a good day but also stressful.

Sarasota went for Obama but the Democrats only won three positions out of 23 up for grabs. One was a state representative, one was the incumbent tax collector and one was a seat on the hospital board. Oh well maybe next time.


Leave a Reply

